The history of the Crystal Palace is kept alive here at the museum and tells the story of both the Hyde Park and Sydenham Crystal Palaces. Housed in the only surviving building constructed by the Crystal Palace Company built around 1880 as a lecture room for the Crystal Palace Company’s School of Practical Engineering.
We are a Charitable Trust and the Museum tells the story of both palaces in a series of unique images supplemented by large scaled models of the Crystal Palace plus showcases displaying ceramics and other items associated with the Crystal Palace including remnants from the original building. Adjacent to the museum is the base of Brunel’s water tower.
The Museum is open on Sundays 11am – 4pm.
On the first Sunday of each month at 12 noon (April to October), the museum gives guided tours of the historic Crystal Palace site.
The museum is free to visit but donations are welcome. Our team of volunteer stewards are on hand to provide information and answer any questions. To discover the full history of the Crystal Palace from beginning to end can take on average up to one hour.
Finding out More
You can contact us at email@example.com or by phone on 020 8676 0700.